top of page
Search

Words to Grow By


     There are times when we find ourselves going 100 miles per hour but we forget where we are really going or what we are working so hard for. We get up, get ready for the day, and begin whatever job functions we are assigned. Being a parent, being a manager, being a spouse, being an independent individual, creating, contributing to the world, or all of the above. It is when we get lost in the fast pace of our every day routines that we might lose sight of the reason we function in the first place. 


     Are we pushing forward towards a goal? Or are we just living because that’s what we’ve been conditioned to do? As a mom, wife, and leader I am reminded that the very work that I do in one day is exactly the reason that I keep going. I may not always have it in mind when things start to blur together but when I take a moment to focus in on what I’m doing I am reminded. I remember that my daughter needs a strong female role model in her life. I find solitude in knowing that I am contributing to make my family prosper in love and health. Most notably I remind myself that life doesn’t mean anything if we haven’t done something to spread love to others, grow intellectually, and make something better in the world. 


     I try to show my family how kindness can make a difference. I’m definitely not perfect at this but I’ve learned to take it a step at a time and to learn lessons along the way. I’ve learned that humility is not a weakness and neither is vulnerability. We are strongest when we are able to recognize our areas of improvement and focus. It is only then that we can find ways to grow. We also have to surround ourselves with people who will respect and support our processes without judgement. If you have to cut ties with family or friends to hold your circle to the highest standard, then do it with your best interest in mind but do it with good intentions. It should also be noted that cutting ties may not mean forever, although it can, it just might mean a momentary disconnect for a better well being. We must also find ways to give back to others without the expectation of reward in an emotional or materialistic form. The satisfaction of doing something good is a reward in itself.


     I don’t speak from a place of wisdom but rather from a place of learning and hopeful understanding. At the end of the day each of us have to find the reason we get out of bed in the morning. There is no right or wrong answer on what that reason should be. Everyone’s journey is different but sometimes sharing perspectives and experience can make the difference for someone who may not have the answers they need. Let this small and meaningless rant serve as a potential opportunity for someone to find out what their reason for doing what they do might be. And let it allow them to use these words as words to grow by.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page