top of page
Search

Social Distancing The Right Way


A lot of people during this time of the COVID-19 pandemic are panicking and surprisingly enough this momma is not. Is it concerning how people are reacting, how shelves are emptied before they can be restocked, and how everything is shutting down? Yes! But that doesn’t mean the world is ending. It just means that fear is spreading faster than solutions and level-headed thoughts can. I’m not going to pretend that I haven’t been checking the CDC updates or made the effort in getting some extra groceries...and no I’m not one of those crazy TP hoarders but we are set for two weeks.


I never heard the term social distancing until this virus started spreading and things got serious. What is social distancing? It might be easy to guess but it is simply a process of implementing procedures that limit social gatherings while taking measures to lower contact deemed unnecessary or risky for a given period of time. Now with social distancing comes a lot of misunderstanding on how to properly do so. I am not an expert as I am surely not an epidemiologist, however, I do know that there are two sides of an extreme spectrum. One side being the self quarantined folks wearing hazmat suits sitting on their throne of endless toilet paper and the other being people who forget that viruses are real and still want to go spread cooties at a social gathering.

As a mom, preggo lady, and full-time working woman I've decided to land on the side of caution and necessity. Three good examples I’ve practiced:


1.) Going to work but minimizing face time with multiple people and making physical contact. Yes I want to be respectful but no I will not be shaking your hand!


2.) When I did have to go out for groceries my husband and I had a plan. We ordered groceries online the night before for the pick up service at Smith’s...now the slots are days out. We picked up groceries without having to enter the store and had them loaded right into our car. Layla never left the vehicle! #germpreventionwin


3.) Wash hands frequently and don’t touch your face, plain and simple. Not all of the solutions we are finding are available for everyone but once we all start to take a step back and do what is necessary we will find the dissipation of the virus spread overtime. Cities are closing down, but we can still stay connected. We can support one another virtually. I’m sure there are some who are already going stir crazy. Check in on family and friends. Send love and credible information when possible and remember, the zombie apocalypse would be far worse!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page