top of page
Search

A Message From A Raised Voice



I don’t do this to offend you. In fact, my goal here is quite the opposite. I am trying to call something that might not be in your scope to your attention. My work is done out of genuine interest to bridge the gaps and create an environment of unity. I come in peace, but make no mistake, I will stand through the fire and bullets to make sure that you understand the severity of what is at hand.


I might be your friend, family member, or acquaintance. You might even reconsider my name as one of those titles altogether as you shake with frustration and anger. You may recall my name and/or face from a fonder conversation. Sure, my social feed was full of baby pictures and the occasional shared post that was more pleasant in nature. If you’ve been following me you might notice there has been a very big change to my content and the words that I’ve recently shared.


Despite what you may think this current uproar in my stances are not a trend or fad. I wasn’t as vocal about this issue in the past because the events that have led to this point were sporadic straws that you probably scrolled over as they were lost in the rest of your feed. Those sporadic straws have been adding up. For many of us, the raised voices, the last straw has broken the back of morality, of equality, and of justice.


The raised voices like mine have gotten louder. Not to deafen you and drive you away. No! They have gotten louder to draw in your ear, to spark conversation, and to get you thinking in a different pattern than your current norm. You might feel offended or attacked when you see words like “white privilege” or “racist”. But have you taken a moment to dissect why you feel offended or attacked? You might feel that I am disregarding you and your loved ones when I say that Black Lives Matter.


Have you tried putting yourself in the shoes of those we are rallying for?


Have you put yourself in the shoes of the mother who fears for her son’s life when he goes to run a simple errand?


Have you taken a moment to research the egregious acts committed by authorities we should be able to trust?


Have you lost someone as a result of their skin color and the discrimination that it comes with?


Have your ancestors ever been enslaved because an oppressor of the opposite race decided your race was inferior?

Don’t read those questions and try to come up with a rebuttal with “All Lives Matter”. I know that they matter. But right now I am asking you to put yourself in the shoes of the ones that have been vastly targeted recently. It won’t be easy. If you are still trying to find a way to rebuke my words understand that you are not listening to me. You are not hearing the message beyond your own ego, you might as well stop reading now.


And if you are thinking, “Well that was years ago, it’s over now and I didn’t take part in that.” Please understand how wrong you are. You did not take part in horrendous events from decades and centuries ago, this is true. But standing by when there are still struggles for racial equality is still taking part in the problem. Standing by and doing nothing is the problem. Saying that it isn’t YOUR problem is part of the problem. Letting things “go back to normal” is part of the problem.


Let’s put aside the politics of it for a moment. Political affiliation should not have reasoning in the topic of equality. Yes we can be different. I think the most beautiful thing about America is that we are supposed to be one big melting pot. The problem is that we have catalysts working to prevent the success of our melting pot dream. Politics is one of them; stop sending people far left or far right references in hopes that you’ll help them see the light. Tunnel vision is another; walk a mile in someone else’s shoes if you truly want to get different perspectives and grow your thought processes. Racism is one of the top contending negative catalysts; remember that racism can be found in all races and can be against all races. It all needs to stop.


My message as a raised voice is this:

Come together with your neighbors.

  • I guarantee a unified front will abolish inequality quicker than a divided one. We can make a new and better normal together.


Open your mind and heart to understand the current issues at hand.

  • Yes there are terrible things going on all over the world, we are currently working to tackle this one. I will stand by your side and be just as vocal when it is my turn to be an ally. But I am asking for you to be my ally now.


Don’t contradict your own pledge of “support”.

  • It is not my job to educate you just as it is not my job to monitor how you choose to support this movement. If social media is not your platform, that’s okay. If you cannot peacefully protest, that’s okay. If you are not educated enough to know what to do at this very moment, that’s okay. As long as you put in the work to support in the best way that YOU can. Please don’t say that you support something though when your actions and/or words do not match up. Contradiction only unravels hard work and progress. Be genuine in your efforts while remembering it’s okay to acknowledge your errors.

As a raised voice I can tell you that being an ally or a raised voice is not easy. You will be judged and misunderstood. People who once thought highly of you might think you are a complete waste of space. Just know that your other allies welcome and support you with open arms.

I have lost friends both by choice and by surprise. I have been lucky not to have lost any blood related family but I have lost people who I’ve considered family for most of my life. It is emotionally draining. I can almost guarantee you that you will lie in bed with your mind trying to digest information. You will most likely cry. The knots in your stomach will be unbearable at times. The beauty in all of this is that you will start to see changes. The small wins will feel like leaps and bounds because they will be wins that have never been accomplished. The energy of those who love and support you will drown out the energy of those trying to drag you down. The future of a new normal will shine as a beacon to remind you to keep striving for change. All of us have a different reason that we are doing what we do; the common end goal is the unifying variable to make many raised voices into one.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page